top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Woods

Fractals and Pokemon

Updated: Dec 29, 2018

I've been quite busy the past few months and neglected to update the blog!

Hopefully soon I will also be able to post about Dialectical Behavioral Therapy. Some of the things that relate to my Borderline Personality Disorder can be difficult to discuss about, but I want to talk about it in the hopes that it helps someone.


But for now, I hope you enjoy some of the newer art I have been working on.


 

One of my dear friends really likes Vaporeon and Eevee. I haven't drawn anything in years, but I wanted to try to give him something special. I used a reference image that I found online on my second monitor. The original image was from a coloring page on a site that had many, so I do not know the original artist. I will add a credit here as soon as I find out!





Here is the original sketch, minus some guide lines. As you can see, I cannot draw a straight line for the life of me. I use an (old) Wacom Bamboo tablet, but even with a nice pen, I can't draw straight. Which is fine, since then I use the line tool in Photoshop!



Sadly, I don't know how to make the line taper down thinner in spots like other artists do, so it's all one thick line. I used the freeform line tool, because I convinced myself I couldn't use the normal one, which resulted in more shaky lines. (I learned how to with a Youtube video after.)


Flipping it around and adding some colors.


Flip it back, add shading (which I am horrible at), add a background and some neat looking text, and it's done! (The text effect I used can be found here.)


And now, on to the fractals!


 


This is a flame fractal that I created in the Chaotica program while trying to learn it. I was happy with this one since I think it kind of looks like leaves.


A zoomed in look at the previous fractal.



A variation of the fractal that I think looks like shells.


And one more variation that I feel looks like tentacles. I also changed the colors to better reflect the tentacle feel!


A fractal I made inspired by a tutorial (found here) that looks like a nebula. This was created in Apophysis 7X and rendered in Chaotica.




And last but not least, a taste of two fractals that I'm working on in Chaotica and Apophysis 7X. Far from the final images but I couldn't help but post a teaser! 


I hope that you enjoy my art work. If you have any questions about the programs I use, please feel free to ask!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page